Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Shopping for a Giulia and wondering how useful owners on here have found one or both of the driver's assist packages?

I tried the blind spot monitoring on a Chevy and really liked it so am tempted by the static package on the Giulia which has it. I have no experience with the features in the dynamic package - forward collision warning and lane departure.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Shopping for a Giulia and wondering how useful owners on here have found one or both of the driver's assist packages?

I tried the blind spot monitoring on a Chevy and really liked it so am tempted by the static package on the Giulia which has it. I have no experience with the features in the dynamic package - forward collision warning and lane departure.
Blind spot monitoring: not very useful, the car has very good side visibility and the warning light is puny. I find myself never paying attention to it.

Lane departure warning: useless as a five legged dog. Very annoying, had to turn it off.

Cross traffic detection: mildly useful when backing out in a parking lot, but not a must.

Forward collision warning: somewhat useful. It's actually pretty smart and does not go off only because it sees a car close in front, it considers your speed, his speed, and whether your foot is on the brake, etc.

Radar cruise control: Fun to play with for a few days, then you forget you even have it.

In a nutshell, if I did not have them, I would not miss them in any way.

·
Registered
2017 Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio
954 Posts
Another thing to consider... your insurance company may charge you more to insure your car. I know it seems backwards because on paper, the car will be safer with all these preemptive systems. But all these gadgets are very costly to repair and replace in the event of an accident. Even a small hit in the bumper may damage all the sensors and radar mounted in the front fascia.

·