Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 230 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
309 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
EDIT: See page 5 for procedure.

This is a continued discussion from another forum we unintentionally hijacked. Sorry!
I've succesfully updated my 2017 to AA/Carplay, looking to build a how-to and am working with anyone to confirm all of the setup variables.

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
I've found that when the initial procsi is run the ETM takes the vin of the vehicle from somewhere. If you install it on another vehicle it will not work and will ask for a security code. Someone installed the radio you bought in a vehicle before and probably ran a procsi. This causes it to lock when installed in your vehicle. Unfortunately, this code is not available through Mopar channels. That radio is pretty much useless, you can still communicate with it through a scan tool, but all inputs are disabled.
Yes I understand at this stage the used ETM I got is useless. (hope in the future the code will be available somehow). I was trying to see if I can provide you with any useful info on my 2017 with MSE and with my locked ETM. If there is anything you want me test feel free to let me know. Thx.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
610 Posts
If there's anything you want me to test with my locked ETM...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
140 Posts
maybe regarding easy entry we do separate thread?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
Beta Romeo your car have electric seats ?
You have in ETM menu easy access ?
I don't think easy access is available on cars with old hardware even with latest SW xxx.059 right? It is only available with new hardware on 072.xxx or above?
Btw, I think all north America giulia have electric seats if I am correct.

maybe regarding easy entry we do separate thread?
I don't know about others but I don't mind easy access being on this thread. I would love to one day get the easy access, AA, and larger reverse camera display on my 2017. ?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,080 Posts
This is a continued discussion from another forum we unintentionally hijacked. Sorry!
I've succesfully updated my 2017 to AA/Carplay, looking to build a how-to and am working with anyone to confirm all of the setup variables.

What month was you car built? I want to do this but my understanding is that this only works on June 2017 or later.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,080 Posts
Don't think that is true. @ratix has a 2016 Giulia with new 2nd gen hardware. He got it to work.
Bouncing around the different forums, it seems like people with 02.xx etc. are unable to update but maybe that's wrong. I am interested in understanding the risks as well. Does this screw up other aspects of the infotainment or the performance of the electronics in the car?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
135 Posts
Bouncing around the different forums, it seems like people with 02.xx etc. are unable to update but maybe that's wrong. I am interested in understanding the risks as well. Does this screw up other aspects of the infotainment or the performance of the electronics in the car?
Yes ETM MV001 and 002 is old hardware not compatible with AA/ACP .
New hardware it costs 1.400 € and a trick has to be done to activate AA/ACP
 

·
Registered
2017 Vesuvio Grey Giulia Ti Q2
Joined
·
403 Posts
Maybe the mods could move over the relevant posts from the other thread?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
137 Posts
I'd be very interested to find out how you did this. Where are the instructions or list of things you did?

I did A LOT of research last year on this and contacted MacGeek and also my contact here who is VERY high up (basically as high as you get) the chain in Alfa Romeo who reached out to Italy.

All of the information we ended up getting was basically that it could be potentially done, but the risk was so great it wasn't worth the reward. While I understood that we needed to replace modules that control the unit, there was an inherent risk that the wiring or some other unknown in the chain wouldn't be 100% right and it could cause gremlins etc. I decided not to risk it.

I was desperate for ACP in my Giulia...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
638 Posts
Beta Romeo, Well done for managing what seemed like the impossible really looking forward to details when you have them. If there is anything I can do to help PM me.

Even if this takes getting a new radio module with the new faster CPU I'm up for it. I just hope its not something the dealer flashes back to stock every time a 'modified' Giulia goes in for service.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
137 Posts
Also while this is fresh in y mind, I'll put in the information that I received from FCA head office as context as well, this wasn't through a dealer, this was through a very good friend who is at the top of the company who was trying to get this done for me, so when he requested it, they engineers were under pressure to help him due to his seniority:

"EMEA Giulia Infotainment engineering team have responded with the following in regards to updating a Giulia to CarPlay/Android Auto:

In order to perform the replacement, there should be a Mopar aftersales procedure, involving both hardware and software and not recommended
Hardware changes are needed (head unit, usb plugs)
Software changes including proxy file (forbidden to end-users) + BCM, IPC, Amplifier, Park Sensor Unit. All the units must be updated together as a bundle because the introduction of carplay/android auto was synchronized with quality changes and upgrades that cannot be split.

It is as we suspected (hardware and proxy update) but EMEA have indicated that it requires additional modules to be updated that I did not consider. Park Sense Module, IPC and AMP.

The risk to update the proxy server and all these modules is high. DTAC actually recently worked on correcting a proxy concern. We had 16 Stelvios with a mismatch. It took them 1 month to correct the concern. And we actually ‘bricked’ one amplifier that now needs replacing. The same could occur to this customers car to any one of the modules that needs replacing or updating.

I maintain my recommendation not to allow this upgrade.”
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
Thanks for the warnings. But I don’t think it is true. The additional modules (amplifier, brake module, IPC, parking sensor, blind spot sensors) that need to be updated were for software 072.xxx.xxx or above. That is when they introduced easy exit and larger rear view camera view, etc. So those other firmware update requirements on these modules are probably related to those new additions. If you are running software 056.xxx.xxx which is the first software version that include AA/ACP, the firmware on the above additional modules were never said needed to be update by Afla. And there were no TSB or recall to have them updated if you are on 056.xxx.xxx or below. And have you seen @ratix ‘s post. He got his 2016 Giulia to work with a new 2018 MY radio in his car and AA/ACP activated with no issues. @jnsd, I see you have a 2018 Giulia in your signature. You shouldn’t need to update your car with AA/ACP since it should already be readily available. Did you sell your 2017 and updated to 2018?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
137 Posts
My car was built in December 2016, registered in 2018, so "technically" it's a 2016.

My software was always 056.xxx.xxx

How this all started for me was they did a software update and it screwed up the voice commands, as they knew me well and my contacts, they generously offered to replace the whole unit at a cost of around $7,000 (to them and not me as it was their fault) as they could not roll back the software.

I used this opportunity to try to get the ACP into my baby, then went down the rabbit hole.

I spoke on PM with @MacGeek and he was very helpful, his info below if interested, but the long and the short of it all was that it was too risky for me to do. If someone else has pulled it off, I am ALL EARS! Hence why I am here, would LOVE to have this feature so any info I can pass on that may be off assistance I will:

"
Yes, the ETM module is the brain of the screen. The screen in the dash is just that, a screen, and it connects to the head unit (ETM) that is under the dash in the footwell area via a LVDS cable.

As for the feasibility of the change, you need the new ETM, the new USB/Aux module (inside the armrest storage compartment), and most importantly the feature needs to be enabled in software.

As for the ETM, codes are the following:
P/N 50553593 is the one currently in production.
P/N 50560294 will be adopted in production from late September. I don't know what the difference from the current one is.

The new USB/Aux module has P/N 156138299.

Now for the hardest part, the software unlock. All current production Giulias have ACP/AA capable ETMs, but in most markets ACP/AA is offered as a paid option. Therefore, the feature is only exposed when the Body Computer "Vehicle Configuration" file (aka PROXI) contains the appropriate option code.

For reference, the official procedure to enable ACP/AA on early MY18 "pre-wired" NAFTA cars requires the dealer to connect the wiTECH tool, connect to FCA servers, add the option codes to the Body Computer, and then, also using wiTECH, activate the feature in the ETM.

I have no certainty about whether this file can be suitably modified on an older car. If at all possible, it would likely require a 3rd party diagnostic tool, like Accinni's Leonardo or Multiecuscan."

-----------

"The part numbers I gave you are for Australia.

In any case, the electronic architecture itself does not differ between NAFTA and EMEA/APAC/LATAM (cabling obviously does differ between LHD and RHD).

Based on my knowledge, I do not see the newer head unit creating other electrical issues in the car.

What remains unknown is whether they'll be able to activate the feature. The wiTECH tool downloads from FCA's server a VIN-specific Vehicle Configuration file, containing all the equipment and configuration codes present on the specific car. This makes me suspect that, until a 3rd party such as Accinni or Multiecuscan manages to figure out exactly what needs to be tweaked and how, direct FCA involvement would be needed to add the relevant codes to your file and make enabling ACP/AA feasible.

In a nutshell, I don't see the new head unit creating other issues, but I don't know whether the swap will actually allow you to get ACP/AA, due to that software caveat."
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
Thanks for posting the message from Macgeek. No compatibility issues noted there and seems like that further confirms that all we need to do is somehow use a 3rd party software to activate AA/ACP by hacking the procsi. Of course we need to get new hardware that is not locked or have AA/ACP initially blocked on the ETM.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
Someone correct me if I am wrong. I think there can be 2 approach to getting AA/ACP on 2017. Prerequisite are new hardware 2nd gen or above ETM and Dual USB ports installed in the center console:

1) NEW ETM from factory with no VIN attach to it. Hack Procsi to activate AA, then install new ETM to car, VIN will write to ETM on initial boot up. Use witech to activate AA/ACP on ETM. reboot and you are set to go.

Method number 2 may not be possible yet. But could be in future, require rewriting VIN to used ETM or use the 4 digit unlock code.

2) Same as above, first activate AA via procsi. Buy a used ETM that have been previously installed on another car that already have AA/ACP activated. Install it on your car. Somehow we can find a way to rewrite the VIN on this used ETM to match your car's VIN. then there is no need to even use witech to activate AA/ACP offline. This method can possibly skip dealer visit.

What do you guys think?
 
1 - 20 of 230 Posts
Top