Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Fresh off the installation this morning, I'm going to post thoughts on product quality and installation now and circle back later this afternoon with some driving / sound / performance impressions.

Packaging:
Came in a large cardboard box, two of the three sections wrapped in plastic, pieces kept separate by various cut cardboard pieces wedged in-between sections. Instructions included (Austrian / German and English) as well as a large stainless steel clamp and some other misc pieces of hardware. Note in my shipment a small bag containing some small SS bolts / washers / nuts apparently opened during shipment and I had to fish around in the box to find them all.

Quality:
I'm not an engineer nor am I a metals / materials expert, so take this with a grain of salt. The tubing appears to be very high quality, I like the "shot blasted" finish on the stainless steel. All hangers and sections were welded very well. No discoloration. Flex portion which mates to the Cat also appeared to be high quality. Wall of tubing seemed quite thin (shop installers commented on that) but since the system is slightly larger than stock in diameter but lighter, the weight savings probably came partially from the wall thickness.

Installation and Fitment:
I am fortunate to have a full custom exhaust & fabrication shop less than 2 miles from my house. Excellent shop. They pulled the car into the high-bay at around 8:15am, and I backed the car out of the high-bay at 9:20am. Including the time both the installers and I took to get some pictures while the rear skirt was off, I'd say installation only took them 45 minutes. Impressive.