Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 88 Posts

·
Registered
805 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently switched Insurance companies. I had been using Allstate for years but decided to shop around. I checked about 8 different Insurance companies for rates for more or less identical coverage. Progressive was the lowest for our two cars (My 2018 Giulia 2.0 and wifes 2020 Mercedes CLA250). I found rates all over the place . In the end I switched to Progressive as they were a little cheaper than Geico and about 50% of the rate I was paying Allstate.

As I'm a fairly cautious driver, I did agree to using their tracking App, called "Snapshot". What surprised me is that they only seem to track 3 things:
a) Hard Brakes
b) Fast Acceleration
c) Phone Usage
Well, I just found out that what they call "Fast Acceleration" must be anything that accelerates faster than a lawnmower. I drive briskly sometimes, but never dangerously and why on Earth would anyone consider that accelerating is a sin? The attached picture shows a copy of one trip that was 7.1 miles and I was dinged once for "Hard Braking" and 10 times for "Fast Acceleration". Oh my, time to look for another insurance Company....

·
Registered
2020 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sport Ti AWD
6,417 Posts
I wonder how that would have read on Vettel‘s Ferrari F1 car.

·
Registered
805 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The CLA had 9 Braking events on my wifes 2.5 mile trip to the grocery store too...

·
Registered
805 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah, I run lights now when they go red as I approach. I used to stop...

·
Registered
372 Posts
Freedom isn’t worth saving $10 a month IMO. I would never agree to track any of my driving habits. You could be the most cautious and they will find something.