Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Giulia (only had mine for three weeks, although I've had Alfas for 37 years) and very new to this forum, but you guys have had the Giulia a good while longer than we have in the UK so I would like to canvas your views.

There is some discussion on the UK forum on the general convention best adopted when shutting down the engine (on an automatic) when parking the car.

Do you first hit the park button on the gear selector and then the button on the steering wheel to stop the engine or do you just hit the button on the steering wheel, allowing the electronics to select 'Park' and engage the parking brake automatically?

Your experiences on this issue would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
248 Posts
Hit the park button first and I actually look to see that it has moved to park as there is a short delay. For awhile I would just hit the stop button but I found that if I did that and lifted off brake too soon the engine would re-fire and lurch. There is another thread here on the subject and the majority say treat it as you would a mechanical shifter and put it in park.

Reactions: AustinJRod

·
Registered
41 Posts
Hit the park button first and I actually look to see that it has moved to park as there is a short delay. For awhile I would just hit the stop button but I found that if I did that and lifted off brake too soon the engine would re-fire and lurch. There is another thread here on the subject and the majority say treat it as you would a mechanical shifter and put it in park.
I've noticed the exact same behavior and follow the same steps as you do when parking.

·
Registered
253 Posts