Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum banner

Madness ECU’s

4K views 13 replies 10 participants last post by  YellowDuc 
#1 ·
Hello , I am thinking about installing an ecu piggyback , Noticed that Madness has 2 different ones , One for around $400 , and the other one that costs $600, They claim similar power gains, So could anyone please explain the differences ?

#2 · (Edited)
First, I have no experience with the Madness piggyback, but I believe the more expensive version is using better and upgraded hardware.
Those using the Madness MaxPower Pro seems to get a nice small performance increase over stock.
To me however, based on real life Dragy resuluts, the MMP dyno claimed 45 whp increase seems somewhat inflated, since that could roughly translate going from some stock 284 chp to 336 chp.
Fact is that a good stock Giulia 2.0TB does the 60-130 mph at some 19.5s and some of the better with a piggyback in some 17.3s. ECU flash seems not to give more power than a piggyback. But there seems to be some gains either way.
Overall, a gain at some 2 sec (+/- 1 sec) over 60-130 mph or 100-200 km/h, seems to be common for the 2.0TB. How much it really is in hp is not easy to tell.

All piggybacks from trusted vendors seem to give more or less same power increase. Be it Madness, TMC, Novitec, Racechip, JB4 etc.

#3 ·
They do not claim similar power gains.

I’m assuming you’re referring to the Sila Concepts unit and the MaxPower Pro. I have not seen any published numbers for gains from the Sila unit.

The MaxPower Pro is a proven, top-tier performer. I have not seen a single user review of the Sila, so I’m really at a loss as to how you came up with the notion of similar gains.

#14 ·
They do not claim similar power gains.

I’m assuming you’re referring to the Sila Concepts unit and the MaxPower Pro. I have not seen any published numbers for gains from the Sila unit.