Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2018 Vulcano Black Giulia Quadrifoglio
4,617 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I check my pad thickness every few weeks, and I know my rears are getting low. When I was at the dealer yesterday, we were talking about what to replace them with and I said I wanted ebc yellow, but don't want the yellow backing plate. The service tech said he could spray paint the backing plate for me if I brought him paint so I'm wondering if anyone has done this before and has any suggestions.

When I asked Auto fanatic about this since he ran ebc yellow and painted his, he said he used Rust-Oleum. Since I've never done this before, I want to make sure that whatever I would use wouldn't cause problems under high heat or weather conditions.

·
Registered
869 Posts
There are places that sell engine enamel, which while isn't suitable for things like exhaust headers, will work fine on a backing plate. Pus comes in a lot more colors. The trick will be adequate cleaning of the plate for the paint to stick. In any area, Pep Boys has the best selection. Might suggest an appropriate primer. Be sure to read what the drying time is for your selection. Another choice would be a wheel paint. I have used all sorts of paints for my own car parts. Best to read the instructions well, esp with two light coats then a heavier one in a few minutes, avoids runs and drips. Not to mention bringing some suitable drape for behind the plate, avoiding overspray. And if you spray with brake cleaner to clean off the plate, it will inhibit a smooth coat, best to wipe down with a proper de-waxing preparation. I have leaned a lot with what works and what doesn't with my own restorations. enjoy, NV

·
Registered
4,617 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I like the idea of wheel paints and grill paints. I'll do some research

·
Registered
869 Posts