Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Little help for a track noob here please. Just signed up for a 1-day performance driving course at Sonoma Raceway next week with my QV. It's only Level 1 -- my first time on the track (not including a Skip Barber event at Road Atlanta in some 911s a few years ago). Checked my insurance and its not covered for the event, so started looking at some HPDE policies on line.

Sonoma recommends Lockton, which wants about $450 to cover it for the day. RLI gave me a quote for $325. There appear to be a few others like Hegarty out there as well. Other than "cheaper is better unless you actually need it," I have no idea whether any of these companies is reliable if you actually need to make a claim, much less how much the 1-day policy should cost.

Also not sure whether I really need insurance -- i.e., how likely in a Level 1 course I, or someone else, will do something that causes major damage to the car -- but will probably end up getting it regardless.

Thanks in advance for your help!

·
Registered
73 Posts
If you’re not comfortably prepared to write a check for the full value of your car, then insurance is a good bet. I’ve used Hagerty with good experience and have read about good experiences with the other companies too, including Lockton and OnTrack. It’s not always yourself you have to worry about or which group you’re in. It’s other drivers f’ng up or having a mechanical failure or leak.