Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 151 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have done a lot of research and narrowed down my choice two cars: Giulia (really want a Ti Sport, or at least the sport package) and the Jaguar XE (35t). what can I say, I don't want to blend in with a 3-series or C-class...

The Jag comes with 5 year free maintenance and warranty

The Giulia comes with 4 year warranty but one oil change only

I like how both drive but the Giulia looks a lot better. I've been considering leasing or purchasing if I got a good deal but:

I looked at the service schedule and you need spark plugs every 30k miles (looks like $1500)

$250 oil changes every 10k

Change brake fluid every 2 years (not sure how much, few hundred?)

replace drive/accessory belt, every 36k miles or 4 years, this sounds like a huge $$ bill

replace air cleaner cartridge every 30k (is this a cabin air filter)?

I am not good at DIY, and all of these costs are making me hesitant. If both came with the same maintenance it would be the Giulia all the way. But it seems that over 4 years this might cost be an extra $5k. Combine this with uncertain value and reliability in the future I don't know what to do. Of course if I can get a good deal on a 2 year lease I wouldn't have to do any of this but I had also considered purchasing.

My heart says the Alfa but my head says the Jaguar...

·
Registered
402 Posts
go w/ the Jag.

1. Having routine warranty work done on the Alfa is a nightmare.

2. The maintenance costs are ridiculous on the Alfa.

3. I compared the 2 cars you did, wish I went with the XE.

4. If you decide to go w/ the Alfa, have the dealer throw-in included maintenance.

·
Registered
316 Posts
Lease it. I have a 3 yr lease with 10k/year and
1) the first 10k service is free (as in free, not pre-paid)
2) the second 10k service is the least of the three, basically an oil change (and anyone can change the oil)