Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, I am a newbie from London. Just posted a new thread as follows - have no idea where the best place to post this so cut and pasting.

Dear American Alfisti, I'm new to this forum and thinking of buying the QF. Looks like a gorgeous, quick and potentially practical family car (480l boot, same as my f30 BMW 330i). I'll be taking one on a test drive soon - hopefully extended - to see for myself, but I have a few reservations and I would be grateful to hear people's views.

1. Ground clearance. The QF has 100m. That's low. My BMW has 140mm, My friend's 911 Turbo S has 117mm, the M3 has 119mm. Tame / stock Aston Martins tend to have around 119mm. R8 had/has about 90mm which I know can be a real pain. I live in London and there are speedbumps. There is the occasional field, or muddy / rutted driveway when we go to see family in the country. Is it mad to get a car with 100mm ground clearance? Or can you mod it? A button that could raise it a few cms in different modes would be ideal...

2. Brakes. Lots of stop-start in London. Is it basically impossible to bring this car to a smooth, jolt-ish free stop? Or is it just practice? Could there be tweaks in 2018MY? would my wife kill me?

3. I want to track the car. Silverstone, Brands Hatch, go to Wales (evo triangle - that's for spirited road driving, not a track) etc. Have heard so many gripes about reliability generally, especially the LSD overheating etc (three laps of a mid size circuit and rest, repeat etc.)

That all said it is an utterly gorgeous Alfa with an utterly gorgeous engine. Thoughts?

·
Registered
2018 Q4 with Fiamenghi Ti exhaust, Race Mod, and Tecnico wheels.
7,670 Posts
Hi there, I am a newbie from London. Just posted a new thread as follows - have no idea where the best place to post this so cut and pasting.