Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. Just thought I'd share a project I'm working on. I started playing around with the torque pro app and a bluetooth OBD2 adaptor and i liked the idea of having additional information on hand but wanted something more permanent than using my mobile phone. Had a unused raspberry pi sitting around so I purchased a screen that would fit in the bottom of the centre console in a 2020 giulia. Im starting to build out the project.

Objectives are
  • other than getting power from the cigarette lighter, I don't want to have any other hard wiring
  • Must be easy to remove
  • Must integrate and look like it is part of the interior design
  • Must safely shut down when the engine is turned off
Here is a video I posted on the project so far.

I'm well on the way to redesigned the gauges to look like the performance guages that are selectable on the 2020 multimedia screen.

im also trying to figure out what i want to display on the screen and id like to know if anyone has any alfa/fiat specific OBD2 codes?

I am really keen on requesting the odometer reading so I can create my own trip B counter that automatically resets at the start of each trip. I'm also thinking current gear, boost, water temp, air intake temp to name a few. Let me know if you have any othat suggestions.

·
Registered
Alfa Romeo Giulia 2.2 Diesel @ 210HP
2 Posts
For power consumption concerns, I would use a STM32 microcontroller instead... That would allow you to also not care at all about safely shutting down the system, so it would be possible to use the key-on power instead of an always on line.
Besides, in powered-on sleep mode, these microcontrollers will draw a few *micro*amperes, so it could stay on for a lifetime on a car battery...

I was in the process of building something similar, with a custom board... But my blocker was finding a suitable display (dimensions and mounting mechanism).