Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have browsed a couple threads here on this but can't come to a conclusion.

I have no experience with installing these and am trying to find one where it can run independently of the fuse box/car battery (is that possible)? I don't want to void any warranties by messing with the fuse box or power sources. (would a dash cam hardwired risk voiding warranty in any way?)

I came across this one

https://www.captureyouraction.com/collections/dashcams/products/a119-1440p-30fps-car-dash-cam but no idea on how I would get it to work. Can't I just like connect it to a portable charger? or do I need to run it off the car battery to get it to run in park mode?

·
Registered
37 Posts
I have browsed a couple threads here on this but can't come to a conclusion.

I have no experience with installing these and am trying to find one where it can run independently of the fuse box/car battery (is that possible)? I don't want to void any warranties by messing with the fuse box or power sources. (would a dash cam hardwired risk voiding warranty in any way?)

I came across this one

https://www.captureyouraction.com/collections/dashcams/products/a119-1440p-30fps-car-dash-cam but no idea on how I would get it to work. Can't I just like connect it to a portable charger? or do I need to run it off the car battery to get it to run in park mode?
Viofo is a nice relatively cheap solution. I have a street guardian which is basically the same thing with slightly different sensors. chose them since supposedly they have good customer support. most people go with blackvue or thinkware, but i couldnt get the thinkware to connect to my phone which apparently was incompatible with a google pixel so i returned it. im the rare person that likes the built in screen so i dont have to fiddle with my phone to see if its working or to make adjustments.