Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
359 Posts
OK, why no correction factor? Without a correction factor for the observed atmospheric conditions in the test cell, you don't have any relate-able data. Sure you made that torque and horsepower right at that moment in the real world, but the next time you dyno or someone else's QV dyno run will be under different conditions, and correction factors that correct to SAE J-607 or SAE J-1349 allow you to have data that is more meaningful outside of your singular test event.

I'm an engineer in the automotive aftermarket, and while I don't use chassis dynos, a large part of my job consists of testing my projects on a Superflow SF902 engine dyno. Bad dyno testing is just throwing money away, because you won't get anything meaningful out of it.

·
Registered
1,408 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
To be honest I probably couldn't give the best answer. Maybe @[email protected] can give a better one. Here are my thoughts: No need for correction factors as elevation and atmospheric test conditions won't vary too much as we don't live in a place like Colorado. Also all cars are tested with out any correction I believe this is due to it loading the front wheels properly, rather than just letting them roll along so long as they don't put down power this is more equivalent to real world scenario of a car driving on a real surface.

·
Registered
576 Posts
To my mind, the best dyno test results might be doing it at the same time along with some buddies C63s and M3. At least that will provide a meaningful spread versus the manufacturers claims. Dynos of a single car seem pointless because if you go on the AMG and M3 Forums, they always believe their cars are highly under-rated from the factory, and in actuality make over 1,000hp, and "they have the dyno results to prove it!" Those guys take fanboydom to an entirely new level. Every dyno test is flawed...unless you have an engine dyno as the other poster stated.