Tires - Alfa Romeo Giulia Forum
 76Likes

post #1 of 161 (permalink) Old 08-29-2017, 08:35 PM Thread Starter

(Thread Starter)
Tires

Hi, my first post but I have been lingering for some time. I am seriously considering a QV. I am new to the performance car world. I was surprised to read that the pirelli p zero corsa tires only have a life expectancy of 10,000.

It isn't viable for me to drop $1k on tires every 10,000 miles. Have any of you changed to another tire? If so what? Has it noticeably affected performance?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 161 (permalink) Old 08-29-2017, 08:46 PM

OP's concern is legit & you're right to do your research...

Wish I had more personal experience to help you with.

I assume Michelin would have some suitable replacements if they have sizes available. I'm thinking Michelin Pilot Super Sports (or their replacements, MP4S). Call/Chat with tirerack.com representatives for ideas... I'm sure they have "Extreme Performance Summer" tire options as well. These would be similar to the OEM Pirelli's, low tread life with high grip...& cost!

Also Bridgestone RE71R on my Evo have been great, not sure about QV sizes though.

Current: Tundra, 3GT
Past: GTI, Evo VIII, Mustang, Si, Evo X
post #3 of 161 (permalink) Old 08-29-2017, 08:51 PM

Garage
Welcome to the forum.

The stock Pirelli P Zero are a fairly soft sticky tire hence the life expectancy. The P Zero's have a hardness rating of 220 IIRC. Swapping out to Michelin Pilot Sport 4S will give you more life expectancy with roughly the same performance. The Michelins have a hardness rating of 300 for reference.

What car are you coming from?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 161 (permalink) Old 08-29-2017, 08:55 PM

Send a message via AIM to Alfaholico Send a message via MSN to Alfaholico